Bob Hay Lectureship

The Bob Hay Lectureship is awarded annually at the UK Macrocyclic and Supramolecular Chemistry Group meeting.

This prestigious lecture is given annually by a younger chemist (within 15 years of the completion of their PhD) working in the area of macrocyclic and/or supramolecular chemistry in its widest sense. The award lecture is given in memory of Professor Bob Hay, one of the pioneers of macrocyclic chemistry in the UK. The award is open to anyone working at an institution in the UK or Eire or who can otherwise demonstrate a strong link to the MASC Interest Group. Self-nominations for the Bob Hay lectureship should consist of a one-page cover letter outlining suitability for the award, a CV and full publication list highlighting the applicant’s top 20 papers. Supporting statements from nominators are not required and will not be considered.

Nominations must be sent to group Secretary, Prof Steve Goldup, by e-mail ( on or before Wednesday 2nd December 2021.

Previous winners

2020 – Ross Forgan (Glasgow)
2019 – Kim Jelfs (Imperial)
2018 – Rachel O’Reilly (Birmingham)
2017 – Scott Cockroft (Edinburgh)
2016 – Steve Goldup (Southampton)
2015 – Dave Adams (Liverpool)
2014 – Oren Scherman (Cambridge)
2013 – Jonathan R. Nitschke (Cambridge)
2012 – Andrew J. Wilson (Leeds)
2011 – Lee Cronin (Glasgow)
2010 – David Smith (York)
2009 – Stephen Faulkner (Oxford)
2008 – Jonathan W. Steed (Durham)
2007 – James H. R. Tucker (Birmingham)
2006 – Thorfinnur Gunnlaugsson (Trinity College Dublin)
2005 – Neil R. Champness (Nottingham)
2004 – Philip A. Gale (Southampton)
2003 – Harry L. Anderson (Oxford)
2002 – Michael J. Hannon (Birmingham)
2001 – Michael D. Ward (Sheffield)

Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: